To start this assignment, you will need a photograph of yourself.
Using the Illustrator Type on a Path tool, you will create a self-portrait using type.
The first step is to open your photograph into Illustrator, create a new layer and, using the brush tool, draw an outline of your face.
Next, you will use the Type on a Path tool and replace the lines you drew with type.
Think about song lyrics, a poem, your favorite sayings, and use them to fill up the lines to create your self-portrait.
Also, look at the values of your photography and adjust the opacity of your lines/type to reflect the value that is in your photograph.
Below you will find the written instructions on how the Type on a Path tool works:
1.Select the path type object with the selection tool (black arrow).
A bracket appears at the beginning of the type, at the end of the path, and at the midpoint between the start and end brackets.
2.Position the pointer over the type’s center bracket until a small icon appears next to the pointer .
3.Do one of the following:
■To move text along the path, drag the center bracket along the path. Hold down Ctrl (Windows) or Command (Mac OS) to prevent the type from flipping to the other side of the path.
Moving type along a path
■To flip the direction of text along a path, drag the bracket across the path. Alternatively, choose Type > Type On A Path > Type On A Path Options, select Flip, and click OK.
Flipping type along a path
To move type across a path without changing the direction of the type, use the Baseline Shift option in the Character panel. For example, if you created type that runs from left to right across the top of a circle, you can enter a negative number in the Baseline Shift text box to drop the type so that it flows inside the top of the circle.
For a video on creating type on a path, see www.adobe.com/go/vid0046.
Apply Effects to Type on Path
1.Select the path type object.
2.Do one of the following:
■Choose Type > Type On A Path and select an effect from the submenu.
■Choose Type > Type On A Path > Type On A Path Options. Then select an option from the Effect menu, and click OK.
Note: Applying the Gravity effect to text on a perfectly circular path creates a result that looks like the default Rainbow effect. It performs as expected on paths that are oval, square, rectangular or otherwise irregularly shaped.
Path type effects
A.Rainbow
B.Skew
C.3D Ribbon
D.Stair Step
E.Gravity
Adjust Character Spacing Around Sharp Turns
When characters flow around a sharp curve or acute angle, they fan out in such a way that there may appear to be extra space between them. You can tighten the spacing of characters on curves using the Spacing option in the Type On A Path Options dialog box.
1.Select the type object.
2.Choose Type > Type On A Path > Type On A Path Options.
3.For Spacing, type a value in points. Higher values remove the extra space from between characters positioned on sharp curves or angles.
Type without spacing adjustment (left) compared to type with spacing adjustment (right)
Note: The Spacing value has no effect on characters positioned on straight segments. To change spacing of characters anywhere along the path, select them, and then apply kerning or tracking.
Adjust the Vertical Alignment of Type on a Path
1.Select the type object.
2.Choose Type > Type On A Path > Type On A Path Options.
3.Choose an option from the Align To Path menu to specify how to align all characters to the path, relative to a font’s total height:
Ascender: Aligns along the font’s top edge.
Descender: Aligns along the font’s bottom edge.
Center: Aligns along the point halfway between the font’s ascender and descender.
Baseline: Aligns along the baseline. This is the default setting.
Note: Characters without ascenders or descenders (such as a letter e) or a baseline (such as an apostrophe) are vertically aligned with characters that have ascenders, descenders, and baselines. These font dimensions are permanently specified by the font designer.
View Previous Student Examples HERE






No comments:
Post a Comment